Uncategorized

Part-time Job

September 30, 2010  —  Written by Julia Marcum 

We believe we should all love where we live.

We’re a couple of homebodies, working to uncover the home our home wants to be. And we’re so happy to have you here. 

Portfolio

Projects

Design

We're Chris + Julia

read more

What we're                   right now

Loving

browse the shop

Befores, afters, mood boards, plans, failures, wins. We’ve done a lot of projects, and they’re all here. 

We have a long-standing relationship with DIY, and love rolling our sleeves up and making it happen. 

Even when you don’t want to rip down a wall, you can make that space in your home better. Right now.

browse all

browse all

browse all

02

01

03

Popular Posts

1.

2.

3.

Top Categories

I have been looking for a part-time job.  I just want something that will give me enough income that I can go out and buy a couple gallons of paint, or a shelf, or decor at IKEA without touching out budget.  Ya know, fixer-upper moolah.  The whole process has been a headache and now has become comical.  Finding a job that I can do that won’t interfere with Greta-time or husband-time is near impossible.  I have been scammed twice (totally bummed) and some folks on Craigslist aren’t making it any easier.

Take this guy for instance:

Disabled writer seeks assistant for light gardening, housework, and the occasional minor repair. Sometimes I’ll need you to lift or move something heavy, or something that’s light to you but heavy to me. I’ll provide tools and instructions, you provide the functioning spine. If you are an organizational genius, there will be office work as well. You should be: trustworthy, able bodied enough to do the work, fluent in English or French, reasonably hardworking, very reliable, and nice (or at least sarcastic in a pleasant way.) My schedule is very flexible, but I’d like to set up something consistent from week to week. Preference is given to someone who can come and help water the garden several times a week those who commute without the use of fossil fuels. 

I was a go until the “fossil fuels” part.  Really?  I mean I am fluent in English, I know a little high school French, I am nice DEFINITELY in a sarcastic way. Haha.  I was MADE for this job.  Darn fossil fuels that I would have to commute with.

I have considered …

Become a Caring EGG DONOR in 2010. We are looking for healthy young women who have a desire to help couples struggling with their fertility. To be an Egg Donor: • Have a BMI of 27 or less( weight to height proportionate) • Between the ages of 18-30, • Healthy, not currently on Depo-Provera • Non-smokers and no recreational drugs • College not necessary Compensation starts at $5,000 plus additional benefits and support. 

but I am still nursing, and I am not 100% sure how I feel about the whole process.

This sounds easy, and I could do it from home:

You would be calling corporations and building database of decision makers for group benefits/health insurance — just asking a few questions. It is simple and easy. I pay $10/hr — 5 hours a day/5 days a week. So $250 per week. If you have a professional voice, and Excel software on your computer and a phone, then you qualify.

…but I don’t have 5 hours/day of quiet in my house that I can talk on the phone.  I have one hour…maybe.

There’s this Mother’s Assistant job:


Busy mother of four looking for an assistant.  Duties include occasional daytime child care, one or two nights per week child care, regular housekeeping, weekly deep cleaning, some meal preparation, and occasional errand running.  Must have your own transportation, must be good with kids, reliable, good at cleaning and organizing, honest, committed, loving, and punctual! $10-15 per hour DOE and depending on productivity/results! Somewhat flexible schedule, 15-25 hours per week depending on your availability and desire. Hours include 5 per week for deep cleaning (bathrooms, wood floors, etc) 2-5 hours for date/temple night, 3-5 hours for light housekeeping, laundry, and an assortment of household projects.



…so be the mother.  I don’t see the assistant part of it.  It makes me wonder, what the heck SHE does all day?  I don’t think I can work for her.  It could be a nightmare.

It has come down to ironing some guy’s 20 shirts a month, watching a 5 pound dog 5 days a week, and tutoring.  I suppose I could do them all…except maybe the dog thing.

What do you think?

  1. Julia, you’re hilarious. Too bad someone doesn’t pay moms for all the work they do. However, payback comes all along the way, and especially when you see your kids turn out like you and Chris. Have you considered selling some of your cool artwork somewhere? How about “baby art” in some infants department? You’re good!

all the latest

We believe we should all love where we live.

We’re a couple of homebodies, working to uncover the home our home wants to be. And we’re so happy to have you here. 

HI! We're Chris + Julia

read more

Load More

Reader Faves

SHop all

What We're                     Right Now

What We're                 Right Now

Looking for our favorite things? A place to shop our home room by room, or just catch up on what Julia's wearing / loving right now? Browse the CLJ shop. 

Loving

looking for inspiration? 

Almost daily I get asked what I would call my home style. I don’t like to box myself in, but I definitely lean Modern Traditional with an emphasis on comfort when it comes to our home. This especially came up when I shared our Powder Bath Reveal on the blog. I think it changes slightly […]

Can We Send You Our Love Letter?

Another way for us to stay in touch! Joining our weekly newsletter gives you access to exclusive content, never-before-seen photos, your questions answered, and our favorite DIYs. Sign up below!

Follow Along on Instagram

Welcome to our online community where we've posted home, DIY, style, renovations, and family since '09. Renovating our #cljmoderncottage in Idaho and headed for new adventures in Raleigh, NC. #cljfam #cljtransformations

@chrislovesjulia